Shchedrin Carmen Suite Numbered Limited Edition K2 HD Import CD

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Click Here for Sound Samples!

Numbered, Limited Edition! Very Limited Quantities!
Only 1,000 Numbered Copies Available!

24-Bit/100kHz Mastering! This K2 HD Mastering CD will play on ALL CD players!

This recording has been mastered by the K2 HD format of 24-bit 100kHz, which creates an unbelievable sound surpassing other formats!

In 1967, Russian composer Rodion Shchedrin composed his one-act ballet, "Carmen Suite", for his wife, ballerina Maya Plisetskaya. The music, taken from the opera Carmen by Georges Bizet and arranged for strings and percussion, is not a 19th century pastiche but rather 'a creative meeting of the minds', as Shchedrin put it, with Bizet's melodies reclothed in a variety of fresh instrumental colors (including the frequent use of percussion), set to new rhythms and often phrased with a great deal of sly wit. Initially banned by the Soviet hierarchy as 'disrespectful' to the opera for precisely these qualities, the ballet has since become Shchedrin's best-known work and has remained popular in the West as what reviewer James Sanderson of calls "an iconoclastic but highly entertaining retelling of Bizet's opera".

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• K2 HD 100kHz / 24-bit Mastering
• Made in Japan

Russian National Orchestra
Mikhail Pletnev, conductor

Rodion Shchedrin
Jules Massenet (1842-1912)Carmen Suite
1. Introduction
2. Dance
3. First Intermezzo
4. Changing of the Guard
5. Carmen's Entrance and Habanera
6. Scene
7. Second Intermezzo
8. Bolero
9. Torero
10. Torero and Carmen
11. Adagio
12. Fortune-Telling
13. Finale
14. Concerto for Orchestra No. 1 "Naughty Limericks"
15. Concerto for Orchestra No. 2 "The Chimes"

Customers Also Like