Genre: Blues
Label: Nonesuch
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Joachim Cooder
Format: 33RPM,


Taj Mahal & Ry Cooder Get On Board: The Songs Of Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee LP

Taj Mahal & Ry Cooder

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Taj Mahal & Ry Cooder Interpret Blues Masters On Vinyl LP!

2023 Grammy Award Winner:
• Best Traditional Blues Album: Get On Board

Nearly 60 years after they first played together, Ry Cooder and Taj Mahal, longtime friends and collaborators, reunite with an album of music from two Piedmont blues masters who have inspired them all their lives: Get On Board: The Songs Of Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee.

With Taj Mahal on vocals, harmonica, guitar, and piano and Cooder on vocals, guitar, mandolin, and banjo - joined by Joachim Cooder on drums and bass - the duo recorded eleven songs drawn from recordings and live performances by Terry and McGhee, whom they both first heard as teenagers in California.

Though this pair are grizzled veterans, they perform with the joy of a Saturday-night jam session, rendering the material with rowdy exuberance, killer vibes, and chops galore....Mahal and Cooder stay close to the originals, but whether faithfully evoking the sound and spirit of their mentors or using them as lift-off points for expansion, this glorious album honors their subjects with joy and swagger as well as devotion.
-Thom Jurek,, 4/5 stars (The AllMusic 2022 Year in Review - Favorite Blues Albums)


  • Vinyl LP
  • Descriptive notes inside pocket
  • Manufactured in the Netherlands by Record Industry


Side A:

  1. My Baby Done Changed The Lock On The Door
  2. The Midnight Special
  3. Hooray Hooray
  4. Deep Sea Diver
  5. Pick A Bale Of Cotton
  6. Drinkin' Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee

Side B:

  1. What A Beautiful City
  2. Pawn Shop Blues
  3. Cornbread, Peas, Black Molasses
  4. Packing Up Getting Ready To Go
  5. I Shall Not Be Moved

Customers Also Like