Genre: Funk
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Tal Ross Giant Shirley 180g 2LP (Violet Vinyl)

Tal Ross

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

180g Violet Vinyl Double LP - Limited To 250 Copies!
Solo Album by Funkadelic-Parliament Founding Member!
First Time On Vinyl!

Of the numerous musicians who have played along with George Clinton in his Parliament/Funkadelic mob, perhaps the most mysterious of them all would be guitarist Tal (aka 'Tawl') Ross. Next to being one of the original Funkadelics, Ross was a vital force (and responsible for many of the rhythms and chords of the early material) on such early classics as 'Funkadelic', 'Free Your Mind and Your Ass Will Follow', 'Osmium' and 'Maggot Brain'.

Tal Ross left the band in 1971 after a shattering encounter with LSD that made him leave the music scene and his New Jersey home altogether. He went to live in a small town in North Carolina, working and playing acoustic guitar.

Years went by without any word from Ross ... until 1995, when out of nowhere he issued his first solo album: Giant Shirley. This was made possible by Aris Wilson and Peter Wetherbee (former label manager of Bill Laswell's Axiom Records) who also enlisted an all-star cast of guest musicians to play on the album (including former P-Funk drummer Jerome 'Bigfoot' Brailey & Manu Dibango/Gil Scott-Heron collaborator Aiyb Dieng).

The results of Tal's nearly 25-year funk-fermentation are compelling, with a beefy stew of blues, funk, eastern rhythms, psychedelia, percussive textures, and even some rock 'n' roll for good measure. The album's roots lie deep in the Mississippi Delta style of brooding blues. Whereas his former band eventually shed their hard funk for a more accessible sound, Ross surprisingly stays true to Funkadelic's early style here on 'Giant Shirley'. Alternating between red hot and cool funk, the album takes the listener on a fantastic journey not witnessed since Clinton and company's early '70s output.

This unique album is far from the standard "shake your whatever" genericness that the majority of the P-Funk camp had embraced by this point and comes highly recommended for fans of Parliament/Funkadelic (and for '70s psychedelic/funk rock collectors in general).

Tidal Waves Music now proudly presents the FIRST ever vinyl release of Giant Shirley (it was only available briefly on CD in the mid-nineties), supervised by P-funk archivist & producer Aris Wilson. Available as a deluxe 180g DOUBLE vinyl edition (limited to 250 copies on VIOLET COLOR VINYL) with obi strip.


  • Limited Edition Violet Vinyl - 250 Copies
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • First time on vinyl
  • Obi strip
  • Made in Canada


Side A:

  1. Ain't No Reason
  2. Green And Yellow Daughter
  3. Cry And Show Me
  4. Hussein (I'm Lucky)

Side B:

  1. Forget Her
  2. Get So Mad
  3. Keep On Trying

Side C:

  1. Feelin' Good
  2. Forever (My Darling Don't Cry)
  3. All Over The World (Ain't That Lovin'?)
  4. Angry Fire (Intestical Swing)

Side D:

  1. Feeling Like Ahh Lover Should
  2. Lovin' Toll Man Suite
  3. It Was (Wars Of Armagedon)

Customers Also Like