Tchaikovsky: Symphonies Nos. 4-6 Numbered Limited Edition K2 HD Import 2CD

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Click Here for Sound Samples!

Numbered, Limited Edition! Very Limited Quantities!
Only 1,000 Numbered Copies Available!

24-Bit/100kHz Mastering! This K2 HD Mastering CD will play on ALL CD players!

This recording has been mastered by the K2 HD format of 24-bit 100kHz, which creates an unbelievable sound surpassing other formats!

These recordings by Evgeny Mravinsky and the Leningrad Philharmonic were taped in the autumn of 1960 while they were on tour in London.

"They are readings of hair-raising intensity--the finale of the Fourth is marked allegro con fuoco, and if you want to know what con fuoco means, all you have to do is listen for a moment. No one else has ever had the nerve, or the ability, to play the music this way. The treatment is very Russian: the extremes are more extreme, the passions more feverish, the melancholy darker, the climaxes louder. In that department, the development section of the first movement of the Pathètique has to be heard to be believed. The sound is remarkably good for the time..." -Ted Libbey, NPR

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• K2 HD 100kHz / 24-bit Mastering
• Made in Japan

Evgeny Mravinsky, conductor
Leningrad Philharmonie Orchestra

CD 1 - Tchaikovsky: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 5
Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840 - 1893)
Symphony no.4 in F minor, op.36
1. 1. Andante sostenuto - Moderato con anima - Moderato assai, quasi Andante - Allegro vivo
2. 2. Andantino in modo di canzone
3. 3. Scherzo. Pizzicato ostinato - Allegro
4. 4. Finale. Allegro con fuoco
Symphony no.5 in E minor, op.64
5. 1. Andante - Allegro con anima
6. 2. Andante cantabile, con alcuna licenza - Moderato con anima

CD 2 - Tchaikovsky: Symphonies Nos.5 (Cont.) & 6 "Pathétique"
Symphony no.5 in E minor, op.64
1. 3. Valse (Allegro moderato)
2. 4. Finale. Andante maestoso - Allegro vivace - Molto vivace - Moderato assai e molto maestoso - Presto
Symphony no.6 in B minor, op.74 -"Pathétique"
3. 1. Adagio - Allegro non troppo
4. 2. Allegro con grazia
5. 3. Allegro molto vivace
6. 4. Finale. Adagio lamentoso

Customers Also Like