Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Capitol
Additional Artists: Bob Dylan
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


The Band Rock of Ages 180g 2LP

The Band

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

TAS Super LP List! Special Merit: Informal

180g Vinyl Reissue!

Rock of Ages is a live album by The Band, released in 1972. It peaked at #6 on the Billboard 200 chart, and was certified a gold record by the RIAA. The double-album Rock of Ages occupies a curious yet important place in Band history. Recorded at a spectacular New Years Eve 1971 gig, the show and album were intended to be a farewell of sorts before the Band took an extended break in 1972, but it turned out to be a last hurrah in many different ways, closing the chapter on the first stage of their career, when they were among the biggest and most important rock & roll bands. The last four tracks feature Bob Dylan. Now available on 180 gram

"Every popular musical genre is included not as part of a numbered catalog but rather imbued in the musical DNA of the performers and the original tunes. They are all here: the earthy 'King Harvest,' Robertson's performance anxiety exposé 'Stage Fright', the mysterious 'Caledonia Mission,' 'The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down' commenced with a short, gorgeous horn intro, and of course the greatest 'Chest Fever' on record. Pay attention to Touissant's horn arrangement for 'The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down' and you'll hear genius... As great as is the instrumental playing, the intense singing is even more astonishing. You have to listen in to catch it all because the busy mix of instruments can sometimes bury the harmonies and vocal textures but they are sensational." - Michael Fremer, analogplanet, Music 10/11, Sound 8/11

• 180g Vinyl
• Original Packaging
• Gatefold Jacket

1. Introduction / Rock of Ages / The Band
2. Don't Do it
3. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
4. Caledonia Mission
5. Get Up Jake
6. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show
7. Stage Fright
8. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
9. Across the Great Divide
10. This Wheel's On Fire
11. Rag Mama Rag
12. The Weight
13. The Shape I'm In
14. The Unfaithful Servant
15. Life Is A Carnival
16. The Genetic Method
17. Chest Fever
18. (I Don't Want To) Hang Up My Rock and Roll Shoes

Customers Also Like