The Lost Notebooks Of Hank Williams 180g LP & CD

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
All Star Roster Of Musicians Complete And Perform Previously Unrecorded Hank Williams Lyrics!
Includes Performers Bob Dylan, Meryle Haggard, Patty Loveless, Norah Jones, Alan Jackson, Lucinda Williams, Jack White & More!!
180g Vinyl Plus Bonus CD!

Egyptian Records, Bob Dylan's imprint, in partnership with the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum's CMF Records and Columbia Records releases The Lost Notebook of Hank Williams.

The album is the long-awaited collection of previously unrecorded Hank Williams lyrics newly set to music and performed for the first time as completed songs by a roster of artists with a musical and spiritual kinship to the archetypal American country music singer-songwriter.

Created from writings left behind by country music's 'lovesick blues boy', The Lost Notebook of Hank Williams premieres the first-ever performances of 12 previously unheard Hank Williams lyric compositions newly set to music by 13 artist whose own sensibilities have been profoundly shaped by Williams.

From heartbreak to honky-tonking, from Jesus to gin mills, Hank Williams wrote about life's deepest truths and sang with an ethereal authority on such unforgettable songs as "Your Cheatin' Heart", "I Saw the Light", "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry", "Cold, Cold Heart" and many more.

When Hank Williams dies, at the age of 29, in the back of his Cadillac sometime early morning on New Year's Day 1953, he left behind a scuffed, embroidered brown leather briefcase, which he used to carry bound notebooks, among other items, darkening their pages with lyrics and song ideas. Some were fully finished, some just started.

The odyssey of Hank Williams' notebooks is recounted in the album's liner notes, penned by Michael McCall from the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum, who observes, "The history of Hank's notebooks is as complex as the legend himself. Yet, in the end, what matters most are the songs, and these new works rise from the ether with ghostly relevance. As with his many standards, these new recordings tap straight into the soul of man. This is songwriting at its most artful and most powerful."

The release of The Lost Notebooks of Hank Williams provides an audio companion to the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum's Family Tradition: The Williams Family Legacy, a 5,000 square foot exhibition presenting an intimate portrait of a great American musical dynasty. Family Tradition, which opened in March 2008, is the largest and most popular temporary exhibition in the institution's history with over 3 million visitors.

• 180g Vinyl
• Bonus CD included

Side A:

1. You've Been Lonesome, Too - Alan Jackson
2. The Love That Faded - Bob Dylan
3. How Many Times Have You Broken My Heart? - Norah Jones
4. You Know That I Know - Jack White
5. I'm So Happy I Found You - Lucinda Williams
6. I Hope You Shed a Million Tears - Vince Gill & Rodney Crowell
Side B:
7. You're Through Fooling Me - Patty Loveless
8. You'll Never Again Be Mine - Levon Helm
9. Blue Is My Heart - Holly Williams
10. Oh, Mama, Come Home - Jakob Dylan
11. Angel Mine - Sheryl Crow
12. The Sermon On the Mount - Merle Haggard

Customers Also Like