Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Merge Records
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


The Mountain Goats Songs For Pierre Chuvin LP

The Mountain Goats

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming March 26, 2021 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Vinyl LP!

Surprise-released in April of 2020, Songs for Pierre Chuvin is the Mountain Goats' first all-boombox album since 2002's All Hail West Texas. After the band sold out a run of 4,000 cassettes in a matter of minutes, the avid Mountain Goats fanbase demanded more - and Merge is happy to acquiesce! Songs for Pierre Chuvin will be available on LP March 26, 2021; pre-order today.

John Darnielle of the Mountain Goats had this to say about Songs for Pierre Chuvin upon its release last year: "I dedicate this tape to everybody who's waited a long time for the wheels to sound their joyous grind: may they grind us into a safe future where we gather once again in rooms to sing songs about pagan priests & hidden shelters, and where we see each other face to face. Hail the Panasonic! Hail the inscrutable engines of chance! Hail Cybele!"

Recording on the same boombox that launched his career, John Darnielle returns to his lo-fi roots for an album of alienation, ancient pagans, and making it through the year together.
-Sam Sodomsky, Pitchfork
Full of images fit for these dismal times and slogans suited to surviving them, Pierre Chuvin is an inspiring reminder of how much each of us has left to learn.
-Grayson Haver Currin, NPR
[Songs for Pierre Chuvin] can be used to escape the present emergency - or, if the listener so chooses, to better understand it.
-Spencer Kornhaber, The Atlantic


  • Vinyl LP
  • Limited-Time Digital Download Card


  1. Aulon Raid
  2. Until Olympius Returns
  3. Last Gasp At Calama
  4. For The Snakes
  5. The Wooded Hills Along The Black Sea
  6. January 31, 438
  7. Hopeful Assassins Of Zeno
  8. Their Gods Do Not Have Surgeons
  9. Going To Lebanon 2
  10. Exegetic Chains

Customers Also Like