Genre: Folk
Label: Chicken Ranch
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Barb Donovan
Format: 33RPM,


Townes Van Zandt Somebody Had To Write It LP (Color Vinyl)

Townes Van Zandt

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Essential Time Capsule of Acoustic Performances on Color Vinyl LP!

A re-imagined collection available on vinyl for the first time in the USA. Includes classic Townes Van Zandt songs '"f I Needed You", "Pancho & Lefty", "Waiting Round To Die" and "I'll Be Here in The Morning" (duet with Barb Donovan). Also included is a limited time digital download containing bonus interview tracks with KUT's Larry Monroe.

From the liner notes by Harold Eggers Jr.: "These recordings are as close to the bone of Townes as you can get. They give the listener a very unique and detailed insight into and overview of his songwriting, music, and life as no other. Townes often made light of the dark, living in the shadows more than not. This album and Townes' spoken words (bonus tracks) are significant because Townes personally chose each track, and in his own words revealed the private person and singer/songwriter/artist he was. These recordings and spoken words were very important to Townes for the world to hear his music and life story as he lived it, as told from the man himself."


  • Color Vinyl
  • Acoustic live tracks
  • First time on vinyl in the US


  1. Intro
  2. Waiting Round To Die
  3. Tecumseh Valley
  4. If I Needed You
  5. Pancho & Lefty
  6. Blaze's Blues
  7. Somebody Had To Write It
  8. Marie
  9. The Hole
  10. Cowboy Junkies Lament
  11. Brand New Companion
  12. I'll Be Here In The Morning

Customers Also Like