Label: Impex
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Willie Nelson Red Headed Stranger 180g LP

Willie Nelson

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 237/500!

180 Gram All-Analog LP Cut from Original Analog Master Tapes by George Marino at Sterling Mastering!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Impex Records proudly presents a true masterwork from Willie Nelson and one of the great recordings of the 1970s in lustrous 180g all-analog vinyl.

Willie Nelson's 1975 concept album, with its mystic and religious overtones, broke all of the traditional rules of country music and helped establish Austin, Texas, as ground zero of the "Outlaw" movement! Nelson's self-financed, surprise double-platinum smash helped him reach by far his largest audience and yielded the #1 country single (and Top 20 pop hit) Blues Eyes Crying in the Rain.

Willie Nelson has been part of our collective consciousness far longer than his legendary status as a performer. Long before the formally pony-tailed master of song was singing “Stardust”, “Always On My Mind”, and “Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain” (none of which he wrote) Nelson was a master lyricist for some of country music’s greatest stars. Among the hits he wrote are Patsy Cline’s “Crazy,” Roy Orbison’s “Pretty Paper” and the autobiographical “Night Life” for Ray Price.

Following the brilliant Phases And Stages Willie’s debut for Columbia is a brilliant concept album (nearly unheard of in country music) based around the song and story of the “Red Headed Stranger.” Although the song had been previously recorded by Eddy Arnold, it was Willie who would take the song to a much higher level by putting together an entire cycle of songs based around the tragic story of the Red Headed Stranger. Nelson’s album is a stunning mix of original and classic songs. Among the highlights are his heart-felt interpretations of “Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain,” “Time Of The Preacher” and “Can I Sleep In Your Arms” by the prolific song writer Hank Cochran.

Red Headed Stranger also features Willie’s Family, his band, featuring his sister Bobbie (piano), Jody Payne (guitar, mandolin), the impeccable harmonica of Mickey Raphael, and the ever flawless Billy English on drums. The sound of the Impex 180 gram LP, cut from the original analog master tapes by George Marino at Sterling Mastering, should be the new reference for clarity, realism, and above all, duplicating the inimitable sound of Willie’s incredible singing voice.

"Newly signed to columbia, Nelson was feeling ambitious. "It was the first time I had 'artistic control,' " he recalled. "So I thought I would just start writing." Nelson had penned the song "Red Headed Stranger" years before; on a drive back to Austin after a Colorado ski trip, he fleshed out the yarn — his wife, Connie, writing down the lyrics as they came out of his mouth. He kept the arrangements extremely spare, in sharp contrast to the gussied-up music coming out of Nashville at the time. The songs locked together to tell a tale of murder and infidelity, and the concept album became one of Nelson's biggest hits." -

"This is real country music, Nelson's first album for Columbia, and the LP that brought him wider public notice. Captured at the now-defunct Autumn Sound Studios in Garland, Texas, by engineer Phil York, the album's sound is immediate, and the instruments have body and some sense of room ambience. This new reissue from Impex Records (the same folks who made Cisco Records so special) easily trumps the original issue with much fuller sound. I could listen to this record just for the luscious guitar work, but that combined with wonderful writing and singing makes it essential on a number of levels." - Dennis Davis,, 5/5 Music, 4/5 Sound!!!

"Nelson had gotten his start writing hits like 'Crazy' for Patsy Cline, but his own breakthrough was a cover of an old country standard written by Rose in 1945 and originally recorded by Roy Acuff. Delivered with Nelson’s jazz-singer phrasing, it’s the beating heart of Red Headed Stranger, his 1975 concept album about love and death in the Old West." - Rolling Stone

"If the album was a sculpture, it would be one of those horsey things you'd expect to see on the desks of George W. Bush and Ronald Reagan. It's pure Americana.

"The spare arrangements for guitars, mandolin, piano, harmonica, bass and drums leave plenty of room for Willie's voice, which appropriately dominates.

"There are musical interludes that move the story along and in a pre-VCR era, this was an album you could put on and create a wide-screen Cinemascope, Technicolor movie in your head as the songs took you through the carefully plotted narrative.

"The sonics are superb, with a spaciously laid out, cleanly and naturally rendered instrumental bed, in front of which Nelson's voice floats. If you love Willie's voice, and who doesn't, this is an opportunity to get as close to it as you'll find on record. It's even better recorded than on Stardust and while that album of standards is great, this one captures more of the pure essence that is Willie Nelson.

"The IMPEX reissue mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound is deluxe in every way: the record is 180g pressed at RTI, the artwork is carefully scanned and reproduced, including the original's lyric insert, and the paper over cardboard jacket is what you expect for a premium priced reissue. There's an earlier Columbia/Legacy vinyl edition still out there for half the price: it sounds half as good.

"Great late night listening and easy to recommend for both music and sound."
- Michael Fremer,

• 180 gram All-Analog Vinyl
• Cut from original analog master tapes
• Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Mastering

Willie Nelson, vocals, guitar
Paul English, drums
Jody Payne, guitar, mandolin
Bee Spears, bass
Bobbie Nelson, piano
Mickey Raphael, harmonica
Bucky Meadows, guitar
Billy English, drums

1. Time of the Preacher
2. I Couldn't Believe It Was True
3. Time of the Preacher (Theme)
4. Medley: Blue Rock Montana/Red Headed Stranger
5. Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain
6. Red Headed Stranger
7. Time of the Preacher (Theme)
8. Just As I Am
9. Denver
10. O'er the Waves
11. Down Yonder
12. Can I Sleep in Your Arms?
13. Remember Me
14. Hands on the Wheel
15. Bandera

Customers Also Like