Genre: Pop Rock
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Gary Louris Vagabonds Numbered Limited Edition 180g 2LP

Gary Louris

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Strict One Time Pressing! Very Limited Quantities! Order Now Or Miss Out!
Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Vinyl!
Expanded Edition Double LP!

The American guitarist, singer and songwriter Gary Louris was a founding member of the Minneapolis-based band The Jayhawks and their principal songwriter and vocalist after the departure of Mark Olson. He eventually was responsible for moving the band from folk-country towards a more progressive, pop sound. The band formed in 1985 in Minneapolis and appeared on Letterman in 2003, performing "Save It For A Rainy Day", off their Rainy Day Music album. They recorded seven albums for Columbia before going on hiatus in 2005. The band briefly reunited in 2011 for a new album and tour only to return to a hiatus when Olson left again in 2012.

Louris' additional credits include being a member of the intermittent Midwest collective, Golden Smog that recorded two albums on Rykodisc and two albums on Lost Highway from 1995 to 2007, as well as co-writing "Jealous of Moon" with Chris Thile in 2005—the song appeared on the Nickel Creek album Why Should The Fire Die?—and songs for the 2008 Dixie Chicks album Taking The Long Way.

In 2008, Rykodisc released Gary's first solo album Vagabonds. The album was produced by Black Crowes frontman Chris Robinson. In an interview, Louris was quoted as saying, "It wasn't my intention to recapture the '70s or anything, that's just what comes out when I sing… Once we got the band together for the sessions, it actually reminded me of how The Jayhawks were when we started out. The music is new and exciting for them, and it was good for me to feed off of that." Vagabonds was recorded in Laurel Canyon, which is famous for being the center of the 1970s singer-songwriter scene, and is expanded here with bonus material from the sessions—many making their debut to vinyl, and others new to any physical format.

This expanded 2LP edition includes a bonus disc of outtakes, demos and acoustic tracks, with many making their debut to vinyl as well as several never having been released on any physical format.

Pressed on 2-180g black records at Record Industry in the Netherlands and comes in a deluxe gatefold tip-on Stoughton sleeve with new notes from Gary. Sourced from the original masters with lacquers cut at Sam Phillips Recording Studio.

Each 2LP set is numbered and strictly limited based on pre-orders.

• Strict One Time Pressing based on preorders received
• Only 1298 Pressed Worldwide!
• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Expanded Edition Double LP
• 180g Vinyl
• Pressed at Record Industry
• Tip-on gatefold Stoughton sleeve

Side A - The Original Album:

1. True Blue
2. Omaha Nights
3. To Die A Happy Man
4. She Only Calls Me On Sundays
5. We'll Get By
Side B - The Original Album:
1. Black Grass
2. I Wanna Get High
3. Vagabonds
4. D.C. Blues
5. Meandering
Side C - Outtakes & Demos:
1. Three Too Many
2. Working Girl
3. Baby Let Me Take Care Of You
4. Fall Day
5. Girl In The Window
Side D - Acoustic Vagabonds EP:
1. True Blue
2. Omaha Nights
3. To Die A Happy Man
4. She Only Calls Me On Sundays
5. We'll Get By
6. Vagabonds

Customers Also Like