Genre: Pop Rock
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Gov't Mule Life Before Insanity 180g Import 2LP

Gov't Mule

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180 Gram Double LP! Released on Vinyl for the First Time! Includes "Wandering Child", "No Need To Suffer", "Lay Your Burden Down" & "Bad Little Doggie"!!

Rolling Stone 2015 Readers' Poll: The 10 Best Jam Bands: Gov't Mule Rated 7th!

Gov't Mule is a Southern rock jam band formed in 1994 as an Allman Brothers Band side project by Warren Haynes and Allen Woody. The band released their debut album Gov't Mule in 1995. Gov't Mule has become a staple act at music festivals across North America, with both its members and frequent guests boasting members from other notable bands, adding various funk and blues rock elements to the band's sound.

Life Before Insanity is Gov't Mule's fifth album, released in 2000 to great critical acclaim. Warren Haynes and Allen Woody formed a power trio with Matt Abts after leaving Southern Rock staple Allman Brothers Band. Precious tracks on this album include the haunting title track, the powerful "Wandering Child", "No Need To Suffer" and "Lay Your Burden Down" (the latter two are featuring Ben Harper on vocals). The most hit sensitive track proved to be "Bad Little Doggie", a ZZ-Top-like burner, which received lots of airplay. Life Before Insanity was the last album featuring bassist Allen Woody, who tragically died just six months after its release. Finally, it's released on vinyl for the first time!

"[T]he Mule recorded what by all accounts seems to be their most creative and intelligent studio album to date... [S]pecial guests on the album are former Allman Brothers bandmate Johnny Neel, who plays the keyboards with bucket loads of soul and finesse, and Hook Herrera, a master of the harmonica... All 11 of the tracks are good." - Michael B. Smith,

• Audiophile 180 Gram Vinyl
• Double LP
• Import
• 4-Page Insert with Lyrics
• Released on Vinyl for the First Time
• Gatefold Jacket

Warren Haynes, guitar, slide guitar, vocals
Allen Woody, bass, mandolin, electric upright bass, rhythm guitar, fretless bass, dulcitar
Matt Abts, drums, djembe, ashika
Michael Barbiero, additional personnel, glockenspiel
Hook Herrera, additional personnel, harmonica
Ben Harper, additional personnel, lap steel, vocals
Johnny Neel, additional personnel, organ, Wurlitzer piano, background vocals

LP1 - Side 1:
1. Wandering Child
2. Life Before Insanity
3. Bad Little Doggie
LP1 - Side 2:
1. Lay Your Burden Down
2. Fallen Down
3. World Gone Wild
LP2 - Side 3:
1. Taste Like Wine
2. I Think You Know What I Mean
3. Far Away
LP2 - Side 4:
1. No Need To Suffer
2. In My Life

Customers Also Like