Genre: Folk
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


John Fahey Death Chants, Breakdowns and Military Waltzes 180g LP

John Fahey

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Vinyl LP!

In 1967, Fahey's first two albums were re-recorded for the burgeoning stereo market which resulted in this version of Death Chants, Breakdowns and Military Waltzes. Death Chants is John Fahey's second album, following the brilliantly apocryphal Blind Joe Death. As massive as that earlier work was, it represented only a tentative first step towards the fields of hodologic splendor that our hero would go on to create.

Death Chants represents a much more fully realized syncretism of the modernist and primitive poles between which Fahey wobbled. It is also the first album he deigned to release entirely under his own name and the one with which he truly began to cast a shadow across the blandly-lit landscape of the world's subconscious.

"It's a work that beautifully displays both Fahey's virtuosity on folk and blues guitar and a distinct composing voice that draws much from folk and blues traditions..." -Richie Unterberger,

• 180g Vinyl

1. John Henry Variations
2. The Downfall of The Adelphi Rolling Grist Mill
3. Take A Look At That Baby
4. Dance of The Inhabitants of The Palace of King Philip XIV
5. America
6. Episcopal Hymn
7. Sunflower River Blues
8. When the Springtime Comes Again
9. Stomping Tonight On the Pennsylvania / Alabama Border
10. Some Summer Day
11. On the Beach At Waikiki
12. Spanish Dance

Customers Also Like