Genre: Folk
Label: Oh Boy
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


John Prine Aimless Love LP

John Prine

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Eighth Studio Album Reissued on Vinyl LP!

John Prine's 1984 album Aimless Love was his first release on his indepenedent record label, Oh Boy Records. Prine and his longtime manager Al Bunetta formed Oh Boy Records in an attempt to take control of his own music. In a 1985 interview with Bobby Bare on The Nashville Network, Prine explained that he'd been inspired to start his own label by Steve Goodman's modest success with Red Pajamas Records and named it "Oh Boy" because of how the expression is apropos for both good and bad situations. "There ain't no middleman, there is no like swarthy little character in Cleveland that gets the money from the people that want the music," Prine told Bare, "and then he takes most of it, twirls his moustache, and then sends me twelve cents."

Aimless Love would be Prine's first album of original material since Storm Windows in 1980. In the years leading up to the release, he had settled in Nashville co-writing songs for other artists, notably the number one country hit "Love Is On a Roll" by Don Williams. Several of Prine's collaborators from this period, like Bobby Braddock and Donnie Fritts, would receive credits on Aimless Love.

According to the 1993 release Great Days: The John Prine Anthology, "Aimless Love was finally released in 1984, the recording complicated by tight finances (it was cut at various Nashville studios, ostensibly during demo sessions), the mechanics of setting up Prine's own independent label, Oh Boy (the initial release was a 1982 Christmas single, 'I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus'), and Prine's habitual low-speed approach to making records."


  • Vinyl LP


Side 1

  1. Be My Friend Tonight
  2. Aimless Love
  3. Me, Myself And I
  4. The Oldest Baby In The World
  5. Slow Boat To China

Side 2:

  1. Bottomless Lake
  2. Maureen, Maureen
  3. Somewhere Someone's Falling In Love
  4. People Puttin' People Down
  5. Unwed Fathers
  6. Only Love

Customers Also Like