Genre: Blues
Label: Candid
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Lightnin' Hopkins Lightnin' In New York (Candid) 180g LP

Lightnin' Hopkins

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

180g Vinyl LP!
Remastered by Bernie Grundman from Original Master Tapes!

Samuel "Lightnin'" Hopkins is largely considered one of the finest and most important interpreters of the blues. A "country blues" singer and guitarist from Texas, his prolific career spanned from the mid 1940s until his death in 1982. Rolling Stone magazine ranks him No. 71 on its list of the 100 greatest guitarists of all time. Historian and musicologist Robert "Mack" McCormick opined that Hopkins is "the embodiment of the jazz-and-poetry spirit, representing its ancient form in the single creator whose words and music are one act."

Recorded November 15, 1960 at the Nola Penthouse Sound Studios in New York, Lightnin' In New York captures the legendary bluesman in classic form, including some rare solos on the piano.

Produced by Candid Records label co-founder, famed music critic and social activist, Nat Hentoff, and recorded at a time when Hopkins was being "rediscovered" by white audiences, the bluesman was reluctant in accepting his new role as an "artist" before predominantly white audiences.

It was only a month earlier in October of 1960 that Hopkins had made his Carnegie Hall debut alongside folk luminaries Joan Baez and Pete Seeger. Before that, he had rarely ventured outside of his native Texas.

"In this album," writes Hentoff in the extraordinary liner notes that accompany the LP, "Lightnin' has continued to illustrate how fresh, personal and surprising the blues still can be when they are molded by so strong and confident a source as this man from Houston."


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Remastered by Bernie Grundman from Original Master Tapes
  • Tip-On Jacket
  • Liner Notes by Nat Hentoff
  • Made in USA


Side A:

  1. Take It Easy
  2. Mighty Crazy
  3. Your Own Fault, Baby, To Treat Me The Way You Do
  4. I've Had My Fun If I Dont' Get Well No More

Side B:

  1. The Trouble Blues
  2. Lightnin's Piano Boogie
  3. Wonder Why
  4. Mister Charlie

Customers Also Like