Martin West & San Francisco Ballet Orchestra Georges Bizet: Symphony in C; Jeux d'Enfants HRX DVD-R

Martin West & San Francisco Ballet Orchestra

$9.99 $29.99
(You save $20.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Save 67% for a Limited Time While Supplies Last!

This disc will NOT play on CD, DVD or SACD Players!
HRx 176.4kHz/24-Bit DVD-R - For Music Servers Only!

HRx DVD-R data discs contain exact, digit-for-digit copies of the original Reference Recordings 176.4 kHz / 24-bit digital masters. This is the ultimate in fidelity for two-channel sound: TRUE high-resolution audio, ready to load from DVD-R data discs onto your computer music server!

To play HRx, the files on the DVD-R data disc must be uploaded to a computer music server, which then will play the music files through your audio system. (You cannot play them on CD, DVD, or SACD players.)

Best of Show award for "Greatest Technological Breakthrough: Reference Recordings' HRx ultra-high resolution (176.4/24) digital music format." (Alan Taffel: The Absolute Sound April/May 2008)

"Reference Recordings, a company at the forefront of technical advancements for the past 30 years, has broken through the technical barriers to deliver to listeners the exact high-resolution digital bitstreams created during the recording sessions. The company's HRx format encodes as WAV files on a DVD the master recording, which was sampled at 176.4kHz with 24-bit resolution. For the first time, you can listen to the original high-resolution data stream of some spectacular titles from the Reference Recordings catalog." - Robert Harley, The Absolute Sound

Reference Recordings is proud to present these works of Georges Bizet, beautifully performed by the San Francisco Ballet Orchestra, conducted by Martin West. The recording was made at Skywalker Sound in Marin County, California by Grammy-winning engineer Keith O. Johnson.

The Symphony in C is a delightful gem, composed in 1855. It was produced as a ballet choreographed by George Balanchine, and premiered at the San Francisco Ballet in 1961.

Jeux d'Enfants is filled with youthful wonder, and fanciful, charming, memorable tunes. Reference Recordings includes Bizet's own orchestrations of five of the pieces. The remaining seven pieces' orchestrations are by Hershey Kay and Roy Douglas. This recording is the first to feature all 12 pieces, with the Kay and Douglas orchestrations.

Variations chromatiques is a dramatic work recorded only once before, by the Louisville Orchestra in 1973. This is the first modern recording.

Martin West continues to show his conductorial prowess, and proves that his orchestra is a first-rate ensemble, with this handsome all-Bizet disc...
-Chris Hathaway, Houston Public Radio – Classical
It's a work which will raise a smile, for all the right reasons. West's upper strings are superbly agile in the Finale, darting about on top of an oompah bass line. Irresistible....All is brilliantly played. And this is a Reference Recording, so the sound is rich and detailed. A lovely disc.
-Graham Rickson, The Arts Desk
[West] brings the light, delicate touch of the ballet conductor with him, always exercising a spring in his step, a lilt to the beat, a bounce to the melody.…It makes for a remarkably realistic presentation, something we have come to know and love from Reference Recordings.
-John J. Puccio, Classical Candor


  • HRx DVD-R
  • HRx First Edition, November 2013
  • Made in USA


San Francisco Ballet Orchestra
Martin West conductor


Georges Bizet (1838-1875)

Symphony in C (1855)
  1. Allegro vivo
  2. Adagio
  3. Scherzo, Allegro vivace
  4. Finale, Allegro vivace
Jeux d'Enfants, Opus 22 (1871)
(Orchestrations by Georges Bizet, Hershey Kay, and Roy Douglas)
  1. L'Escarpolette (The Swing/Sea Saw)
  2. Improptu: La Toupie (The Top)
  3. Berceuse: La Poupée (The Doll)
  4. Les Chevaux de Bois (Hobby Horses)
  5. Le Volant (The Shuttlecock/Badminton)
  6. Marche: Trompette et Tambour (Trumpet and Drum)
  7. Les Bulles de Savon (Soap Bubbles)
  8. Les quatre Coins (Puss in the Corner)
  9. Colin-Maillard (Blind Man's Bluff)
  10. Saute-Mouton (Leap-Frog)
  11. Duo: Petit Mari, petite Femme (Little Husband, Little Wife)
  12. Galop: Le Bal (The Ball)
  1. Variations chromatiques (1868)
    (Orchestrated by Felix Weingartner)

Customers Also Like